Q and A with Joanna and Ron (Liebster Award)

Time for some fun! Back in June, Emily Harvale nominated our blog for a Liebster Award. We’ve finally found some time to follow up and answer the questions posed by this Award. Thanks for nominating us, Emily!

1. What’s your favourite novel and what do you love about it?

Joanna: One? I can choose only one?! Okay. I’ll go with J.R.R. Tolkien’s ‘The Hobbit’, because it made a wondrous impression on me when I first read it. And it showed me that adult writers can write magic and fantasy! (Hooray!)

Ron: No doubt the one that changed my life – now is that ‘The Celestine Prophecy’ or ‘The Cordello Quest’ – so some doubt then…….. 😉

2. Do you have any pet peeves in fiction?

Joanna: I’m a bit of a punctuation pedant. I know I’m not perfect at punctuation, but seeing a series of errors in that department pulls me right out of the story and affects my reading experience. Same goes for like-sounding words incorrectly used (like the ‘assent of an aircraft’!) I’ve abandoned reading several books as a result.

Ron: Continuity, and the wrong word in the wrong place.

3. What are you most proud of?

Joanna: Writing our first book and taking the decision and the steps to publish independently.

Ron: Working with Jo {for now it is :)}

4. Your most and least favourite people in history?

Joanna: Most favourite: The inventors of language, and the first storytellers.
Least favourite: Those who seek power at the expense of others’ wellbeing.

Ron: History – when was that – did those people really exist? The person who invented the wheel as Favorite.  For Least Favourite, the people who misused that and all other inventions for personal profit at the expense of others and nature.

5. The country, city or other place you’d most like to visit?

Joanna: Cordello and Reika! Can you imagine how it would feel to be there….

Ron: Thanks Jo, would have to agree now…. or somewhere I could learn more about harmony…. (oooer must have got my ‘make a better world’ head on!)

6. Which five people would you like to meet (dead, alive, or fictional)?

Joanna:

(1) Lady Aida, and

(2) Charls, from The Cordello Quest.

(3) James Redfield, author of The Celestine Prophecy.

(4) Dame Maggie Smith – I wonder if she’d agree to play Lady Aida in the movie of The Cordello Quest?

(5) Mr Darcy from Pride and Prejudice.

Ron: This is difficult, because most of the real people would probably disappoint and I would not like my images shattered.
It seems my fantasy characters are all women heroes – from the Trudi Canavan Books, and Katniss Everdeen from ‘The Hunger Games’ series.

7. What makes you laugh the most?

Joanna: Intelligent humour and wordplay (the latter is something Ron is very good at!)

Ron: Humour

8. If you could know the future, what would you wish for?

Joanna: I don’t want to know the future. I prefer life to unfold in its confusing and mysterious ways, and to enjoy recognising its synchronicities and gifts … even those which are blessings in multiple layers of disguise.

Ron: There is no one future: the decisions we make, the way we relate to others, affects the path we follow … but if enough people believe in a good thing it will eventually happen.

9. If you won the lottery and could donate money to charity, which charity would you choose – and why?

Joanna: I already donate to several charities monthly, so I’d probably choose one of those. Cancer Research or WWF – something which would make a difference on a large scale.

Ron: A simple answer for me as a Rotarian, it would be the Rotary Foundation who started the process to eradicate Polio and WILL complete the task in the very near future.

10. Do you suffer from any little phobias or superstitions?

Joanna: I suffered from chronic anxiety and panic attacks following a major trauma in my 20s, which meant I became phobic about many things, and had to overcome fear pretty much every day. Travel was a biggie. I can manage travelling on the cross-channel ferry now  – thanks for those opportunities, Ron, and for encouraging me out of my comfort zone! I guess flying would still freak me out quite a bit. Okay, a lot …

Ron: Each fear I have had, I have tried to resolve – horses, enclosed spaces, heights, but have not cleared the fear of being buried alive!! The one bit in ‘Kill Bill’ that makes me physically shake.

11. What’s your favourite guilty pleasure?

Joanna: Who says I have one. 😉

Ron: Why is pleasure associated with guilt?????

Eleven random facts about Jo and Ron:

Joanna – I started a novel when I was about ten years old. Heaven knows what happened to it. That work was probably atrocious, not least because I tried to plan it!

Ron – Failed English and most other basic tests at school, guess what, probably mild dyslexia?

Joanna – I fainted in a large department store when I had my ears pierced as a young teen. (Soooo embarrassing!!!!)

Ron – Having to stop playing rugby still depresses me.

Joanna – I have a Bachelor’s degree in mathematics, and have also studied astronomy, computer programming, and genetics at degree-level.

Ron – I love being in France.

Joanna – My garden contains lots of bamboos, including the beautiful Phyllostachys Nigra. My husband’s a plant addict.

Ron – Am I really old enough to retire?

Joanna – I failed my English Language O level mock exam because I ran out of time and had only told a third of the story! After that, I showered stories on my English teacher – he was a star, and marked every single one. That young writer has learned a lot since then. 😉

Ron – Finding writing has given me a new direction.

Joanna – I have too many books. No, wait, that’s not right. I don’t have enough space for all the paperback books that I have. (Thank heavens for Kindle!)

The rules:

  • Thank Liebster Blog Award nominator on your blog and link back to the blogger who presented this award to you;

  • Answer the eleven questions from the nominator;

  • List eleven random facts about yourself;

  • Present the Liebster Blog Award to up to eleven blogs and let them know they’ve been chosen;

  • Pass on the eleven questions to your nominees, or create new ones;

  • Copy and paste the blog award on your blog.

We’re nominating:

Sharon at Jera’s Jamboree / Fiction Addiction Book Tours

Sharon Sant

Hywela Lyn

Yasmin Selena Butt

Kate at Me, My Books & I

Nicky Wells

Rebecca Bradley

Toni at Everything Books & Authors

If our nominees don’t have time or don’t fancy doing it, that’s no problem at all! But remember, like us, you could always save the link and fit it in ‘sometime’ in the future …! 🙂

If any of our nominees have already taken part … we hope you had as much fun doing it as we have! 🙂

To our lovely blog readers … which of these answers or random facts (if any!) surprise you the most? Are there any that you resonate with? 🙂

8 responses to “Q and A with Joanna and Ron (Liebster Award)

  1. AWESOME! I didn’t know you were a scientist at heart, Jo, as well as a writer. Ron, like your answer to the future question! I very much agree ~ the future is unwritten and the possibilities are endless!

    Congratulations on this fabulous (and well deserved!) award and thank you for my nominations. I shall follow your lead and defer my acceptance for just a little while….until things have calmed down a bit, but I am truly honoured and humbled. Thank you for thinking of me. 🙂

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your award, Ron and Joanna. I enjoyed reading your responses. 🙂

    Like

  3. Great to find out more about you both 😀

    Thank you for nominating me. Even though I don’t accept awards on the blog, very interesting questions!

    Shaz
    x

    Like

  4. Thanks so much for the nomination, Ron and Joanna. I shall follow your lead as well and defer this for a while. At the moment I have a sick dog, romance writers convention and a WIP to deal with!Q 🙂 Very much appreciated though and congratulations on your own award.

    Like

Your comments are welcome ... please don't be shy!

