Two Tales: Flying

Every Friday, writers from around the globe join to write tiny tales in response to a photo prompt posted on Rochelle’s blog. This week’s photo prompt has been supplied by Doug MacIlroy.

Hawaii clouds

Copyright D M MacIlroy

Joanna’s story ~ Daisy

Vast fluffy pillows of white rest beneath me. Above, I see no limits, no horizons. I’m free, unencumbered.

This must be what flying is like. I feel no pain now; just peaceful detachment.

I hear an echo – more like a memory – a voice calling my name. The sound is hollow, as though it doesn’t really exist. Or perhaps it’s me who no longer exists?

It’s so beautiful here, I think I’ll stay. Why go back?

Then I remember. Daisy. Love and hope warm me.

So. It is not my time yet. I return to my life.

“Hello, Daisy!”

[100 words]

~

Ron’s story ~ 24792: Arrival

I thought they said planet 24792 was water based – that’s the fluffiest water I have seen in all my 920 planetfalls. Hang on, what is that darker stuff over there? It is looming up very fast and has black hot fluffy stuff coming from the top. Better slow, and wake Captain Alt-Q.

‘Junior Officer Crtl-6 to Captain Alt-Q, please respond. You are needed in the control pod. —- Captain, please respond quickly! I am beyond my assigned knowledge level.’

‘Ctrl-Q, on my way; why was I not summoned sooner?’

‘It was all so pretty, Sir!’

[100 words]

~

The tales written by other writers who’ve taken part this week can be found by clicking the blue frog below.

Our earlier stories can be found here and on our old blog.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Free ebook: Crystal, Fire and Water. Read more here.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

18 responses to “Two Tales: Flying

  1. enjoyed both. I like the phrase “I am beyond my assigned knowledge level”. Sums up the way I feel sometimes. 🙂

    Like

  2. Both stories are great. Also, I loved Ron’s character names!

    Like

  3. Welcome back again to the both of you. 🙂 Joanna, I like the other-worldly-ness of your story and the love that pulls Daisy back. Ron, I like the same line as Sandra did. I’ve had those days myself.

    janet

    Like

  4. Joanna–I can hear the name now, “Mom.”
    Ron–I like those clever names, I think I know them from somewhere…

    Like

  5. Dear Joanna,

    It’s nice to see you and Ron back among us. Both stories are enjoyable.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  6. Hi Joanna and Ron,
    Two very different, but both very successful stories. The description of the out of body experience in Joanna’s story is very ethereal and thoughtful. Ron’s story has a whimsical sci-fi quality that I could read more of. Ron

    Like

  7. I liked them both, but the first tugged on my heart strings =)

    Like

  8. I liked them both, but related to the first more. Great effort!

    Like

  9. Joanna made me smile but Ron made me giggle.

    Like

Your comments are welcome ... please don't be shy!

