One More!

Well, it seems a little story I wrote recently for an online competition was awarded an Honourable Mention! *happy dance*
You can read my story below.
Thanks to fellow author Anneli Purchase for running the contest. 🙂

Anneli's Place

The writing contest produced some very good entries. It was hard to choose only three. I ended up choosing four, and still I had to add a fifth – Joanna Gawn –  for an honourable mention. This does not mean hers was the fifth best. It’s just that I had to make the cut somewhere.

025a

I liked Joanna’s story very much. Here it is. Congratulations Joanna.

The buildings seem smaller than when I left thirteen years ago. Yet the land runs forever. I’d forgotten. The city does that to you, narrows your vision, restricts your focus to the height of things, not the breadth.

Hannah Mallory and I played on that ridge every time Dad and I visited. Hannah and I were innocents back then, drinking fresh lemonade in the shade of the trees while the sun baked the earth a pale gold.

I think of my town car back in…

View original post 230 more words

One response to “One More!

  1. Great writing job, Joanna. Thanks for the re-blog.

    Like

Your comments are welcome ... please don't be shy!

