Recommended Read: The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy #3)

The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy, #3)The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

After reading the first two books of this fabulous trilogy, A Discovery of Witches and Shadow of Night, I was concerned that my expectations for The Book of Life were *far* too high.

I needn’t have worried … in fact, I can’t imagine how the finale to the series could have been bettered.

Again, the story embraces magic, alchemy, science, history, romance and power.
It’s a rich, mouthwatering banquet of skilful storytelling and superb prose and dialogue, with threads of powerful magic caught and woven among them all.

As each new surprise was revealed, I was delighted as a reader, and filled with admiration as a writer. Just as I thought the story or the magic and imagery couldn’t get any better … they did.

Diana, Matthew, Sarah, and Ysabeau are, of course, strong characters, just as they have been from the beginning. I found a new affection for Gallowglass, and for the fiery Corra.

My highest praise comes when I say I wish I’d written a book. I wish I’d written the entire series. C’est magnifique.

-Joanna

You can follow the author, Deborah Harkness, on Twitter: @debharkness

View all my reviews on Goodreads

JUST ONE MORE THING…

Over the summer months (June, July, August) we’ll be reducing our blogging frequency to once every 3 weeks, to give ourselves a bit more space to relax – and a bit more time to work on novels and short stories. 🙂

2 responses to “Recommended Read: The Book of Life (All Souls Trilogy #3)

  1. I’m going to make a confession now Jo … despite going to the launch last July, I haven’t been able to read it! I just can’t. I don’t want it to end … x

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments are welcome ... please don't be shy!

