Recommended Read: Nicky Wells’ Rockstar Romance Trilogy

I don’t often read or review romance, but this series is a little bit different. For one thing, it involves music in quite a big way. A definite draw for me!

And … as Nicky herself is such a lovely person, I thought I’d feature her Rockstar Romance trilogy in one post! 🙂

Sophie's Turn (Rock Star Romance, #1)Sophie’s Turn

Sophie Penhalligan’s life and moral universe is turned upside down when rock star Dan proposes to her in full knowledge that she is already engaged.

She has always loved Dan, in a remote-crush kind of way. She thinks she loves her fiancé, Tim.

What is she to do?

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Safe and boring? Or glamorous and risky? Which man would you choose?

I could totally empathise with each of Sophie’s choices and difficult “should I, shouldn’t I?” decisions.

All of the characters are memorable (some for all the wrong reasons!) and there are some truly hilarious laugh out loud moments, even in some of the more ‘serious’ scenes. I also think her mum is fabulous. 🙂

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable and engaging read, and I eagerly look forward to the sequel.

 

Sophie's Run (Rock Star Romance, #2)

Sophie’s Run

Her famous star remains her rock while life takes her on a little detour…

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I thoroughly enjoyed Sophie’s Turn, the first in the Rock Star Romance series, however in Sophie’s Run, Nicky Wells has stepped up a gear! There’s never a dull moment in Sophie’s life, and I felt as though I was on an emotional roller-coaster ride of mirth, shock, sadness, frustration, delight, respect, sweetness and surprise.

I have to be honest, Sophie’s Run didn’t end as I thought it might. Sophie’s relationships with the men in her life are never straightforward and her choices are often unpredictable! So I’m quite intrigued to read what happens in Sophie’s Encore, due out later this year.

Nicky has quickly become one of my favourite contemporary romance authors. She not only delivers an interesting and enjoyable storyline, but she does so with flair and great writing. It’s always a pleasure to read a book which combines both.

Well done, Nicky Wells. You are a bright talent.

 

Sophie's Encore (The Rock Star Romance Series)

Sophie’s Encore

Her rock star is waiting in the wings, but will he get a second chance?

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

​I’ve become quite fussy about romance books, and read far fewer than I once did, but I always know that I’ll have a good quality story (and a well-written one) whenever I pick up a Nicky Wells book. And I had a feeling that the grand finale to Sophie’s story would be a bit special!

The opening chapters of Sophie’s Encore had me muttering ‘What? What happened? How come she has …. why is she feeling …?!’

And with consummate style, Nicky reveals the new Sophie, the Sophie who has had an incredibly tough time, and for one reason or another, has simply forgotten how to be herself. As we’re taken through her unfolding story, we encounter tears, sadness, heart-wrenching grief, laughter, giggles (OMG, the tentacles scene!) and importantly, hope: the promise of a happier future.

Dan is as wonderful as ever. How can you not love Dan?! Everyone should have a Dan, even if the relationship is platonic! But Dan, being human – despite also being a ‘rock god’ – has his own issues and challenges and difficulties.

And the path of Sophie’s and Dan’s love never has run smooth!

Quite aside from following the progress of their relationship, I really enjoyed being introduced to the art of mixing and mastering raw music tracks, and I loved the analogies used to explain the magic, the instincts, and the skill behind that process. Not only was it interesting, it was explained and developed in a way that really enhanced the story.

There are also a couple of new characters – initials J and E – who had some show-stealing moments of their own, and of whom I have become rather fond!

All in all, immensely enjoyable and a fitting end to the Sophie Rock Star Romance Trilogy.

nicky promo rr

* * *

Nicky can be found on Twitter at @WellsNicky and has now reached the dizzy heights of having her own monthly radio show, Books Rock! on SirenFM.

Other rock romance titles by Nicky Wells:

Spirits of Christmas
Fallen for Rock

Rock on, Nicky!

* * *

View all my Goodreads reviews

~ Joanna

5 responses to “Recommended Read: Nicky Wells’ Rockstar Romance Trilogy

  1. Oooh Jo! Now you have me smiling from ear to ear. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on the whole Trilogy all in one go. I think this is possibly my only ‘three-in-one-review’, and it makes me look at my own work in a completely new light, especially as these books were written over a prolonged (ish) period of time. So happy you enjoyed! Tell you what–I felt bereft when the story ended, like I was losing some very good friends. Weird, huh? I’m glad you took the time to read and review all three, you made my day. Rock on!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you’re smiling and are pleased with my 3-in-1 ‘all together now’ post! I can well imagine that feeling of loss once the series ends – what on earth will I do when Keira and Co. are ‘over’?? Doesn’t bear thinking about!

      Thanks so much for commenting, Nicky, and for sharing the post – much appreciated. xx

      Like

  2. Loved all of Nicky’s books! If you haven’t read them, you’re missing out.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments are welcome ... please don't be shy!

