‘The Perilous Price of Happiness’ and ‘Home’: A Duet of Flash Fiction Tales for #FridayFictioneers

Every Friday, writers from around the globe join to write tiny tales in response to a photo prompt posted on Rochelle’s blog. It takes discipline to write a piece using only 100 words! It’s also fun to take part in the blog hop and to read and comment the stories written by other writers. 🙂

This week’s photo prompt has been supplied by Madison Woods.  We decided to write interlocking tales again!

Image (C) Madison Woods

Image (C) Madison Woods

 

Joanna’s story ~ ‘The Perilous Price of Happiness’

“Eww, that’s gross!” Belle choked, covering her nose. “Let’s head back, before we miss Curfew.”

Shaun’s calculating gaze roamed over the slimy mountain of rubbish. “Wait, babe – see that old mirror near the top? You said you wanted one! Told you this recce would be worth it!”

Belle’s smile was luminous. “Can you get it?”

Shaun reached high into the glutinous mess. Ugh, it was disgusting, but Belle’s happiness was priceless. His fingertips stretched … but something had captured his wrist… and it tightened and sucked and spread and smothered …

The last sound he heard was Belle’s scream.

 [100 words]

 ***

Ron’s Story ~ ‘Home’

Yes, this is where I live.  Safe, secure, and right.  I can hear human voices……..

It might not look much to you, but to me it’s grothome. Disparaging, unsympathetic, condemning.  I acknowledge their world, I have to.  I see their weird forms and … well, I live with them.  I have no choice, they impose themselves on me.  I might not be as them, but I am equal to them!  I am worth my place in this environment.  I live here!

No, you will not take from me.  Beware, I am more than you see.

I’ll show them; come here.

[100 words]

***

The tales written by other writers who’ve taken part this week can be found by clicking the blue frog below.

If you’d like to read any of our earlier stories, they can be found here and on our old blog.

We hope you enjoyed these tiny tales! If you like writing and want to take part in Fictioneers, please visit Rochelle’s blog for the “how to” guide. 🙂 All are welcome!

If you’d like to connect with us on Twitter, we are @LazuliPortals. 🙂


Joanna & Ron | The Lazuli Portals

24 responses to “‘The Perilous Price of Happiness’ and ‘Home’: A Duet of Flash Fiction Tales for #FridayFictioneers

  1. I guess these two tales were designed to fit together. Well done, both of you. I’m feeling very uneasy now

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really liked the second one best. It had a more haunting quality. The way it’s phrased, it’s hard to tell whether he is challenging the human world or the ‘grothome’ he lives in. Was that deliberate on your part?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would take care of being attracted to lure embedded in snot.. Great symbiosis and use of your two voices.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Two creepy stories this week. I’m not used to that from you two. 🙂 In light of my post for today, it feels even more creepy, although there wasn’t anything like this in the trash we found. I like the use of the two POV.

    janet

    Like

  5. Belle’s luminous smile – her anticipation and glee is priceless. Poor Shaun for trying so hard to please.
    The voice in Ron’s piece is intriguing – would like to know more especially in response to ‘I am more than you see.’

    Like

  6. Wonderful intertwining in these pieces. Well done, you two.

    Like

  7. Joanna & Ron, Good stories. They fit together well. It looks like the alien not only lives with them but off them. It seems it doesn’t know it has a lure that draws people. Maybe I just read it wrong. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    Like

  8. Dear Joanna (and Ron),

    These two stories fit well together. Seeing it from both POV’s was a great way to handle the situation. Nicely done on both counts.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

Your comments are welcome ... please don't be shy!

