Friday Fictioneers: ”Blazin’ a Trail” and “Never Too Old”

Every Friday, writers from around the globe join to write tiny tales in response to a photo prompt posted on Rochelle’s blog. It takes discipline to write a piece using only 100 words!

This week’s photo prompt has been supplied by Bjorn Rudberg

Copyright - Bjorn Brudberg

Joanna’s story ~ Blazin’ a Trail

It took me thirty years to find something in common with my old man. ‘Til then I was out in the world making my own mark, needing to find a way to be different from him. I wanted to blaze a trail through a separate universe.

Seems the apple never falls far from the tree, though.

I can’t play guitar worth a damn . . . ‘specially since I lost a finger.

But money laundering? Turns out Pa and I make a good team. And with that body now hidden in our cellar, looks like our bond will be gettin’ tighter than ever.

[100 words]

* * *

Ron’s story ~ Never Too Old

“Try it like this, man; quick chords, then breakout.”

I studied the old man’s gnarled, flying fingers creating tumbling notes as the maestro lovingly plucked the strings with glue-hardened nails. The deep, round emotions opened my mind and allowed in new ideas.

“Ok, I see; a bit like this?”

My eyes moved to the night-sky-painted ceiling, and I allowed my own fingers to stroke out my stretched cords. Looking across to the old man’s eyes and seeing not the approval I sought, but astonishment.

“Hey junior, that’s a cool twist, seems us is both doin’ some learnin’.”
[97 words]

 

* * *

The tales written by other writers who’ve taken part this week can be found by clicking the blue frog below.

If you’d like to read any of our earlier stories, they can be found here and on our old blog.

We hope you enjoyed these tiny tales! If you like writing and want to take part in Fictioneers, please visit Rochelle’s blog for the “how to” guide. 🙂

If you’d like to connect with us on Twitter, we are @LazuliPortals. 🙂

 

* * *

30 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: ”Blazin’ a Trail” and “Never Too Old”

  1. Loved them both 🙂

    Like

  2. Both stories well written. Liked the first story’s concept and the second one’s twist

    Like

  3. Both have a nice twist at the end. Well done, my dears.

    Like

  4. Both very good stories this week.

    Like

  5. Such contrasting tales, and both of them are excellent. I liked the bond between them on both stories, you both brought that out beautifully. It must be really interesting, sharing a talent in this way.

    Like

  6. Two absolutely contrasting tales and I liked them both. The first has a wicked twist and I really liked the message of the second one. We are never too old to learn and sometimes the pupils can teach the masters.

    Like

  7. I was just settling in to think how great it was that the two finally came together in your story, Joanna, when you turned that idea on its head! Now I hope they spend more time together…in prison! Ron, you deftly and lovingly showed that we never stop learning, even from those nearest us, although sometimes that’s the most difficult, especially for a parent, who tends to think of a child as always a child in some way. Well done you (both)!

    janet

    Like

  8. I like the way both stories play off the age difference of the musicians. Also, very effective dialogue. Nicely done!

    Like

  9. Both great stories. Loved the twist in the first one 🙂

    Like

  10. I agree that both stories were great. The first story was more of a forced relationship, but well told. The second was a relationship born from admiration and I liked the happy ending. 🙂

    Like

  11. Dear Joanna and Ron,

    Two different fathers and sons it seems. Nicely written both of them. I think the ones in Joanna’s story might just enjoy a lengthy prison stay together. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  12. Both were superb .. but I kind of like the wisdom in Ron’s story… you’re never to old to learn

    Like

  13. I composed a comment and my blooming kindle crashes!! But just to say, you are both so good at doing these! I’m amazed at what you manage to squeeze out of 100 words xx

    Like

  14. Dear Joanna and Ron, I like both stories – really different. Someone is going to jail I think, though! Good job! Nan 🙂

    Like

  15. Fab u lous 🙂 x

    Like

Your comments are welcome ... please don't be shy!

