Friday Fictioneers: “These Boots…” and “The Good Gardener?”

Every Friday, writers from around the globe join to write tiny tales in response to a photo prompt posted on Rochelle’s blog. This week’s photo has been supplied by Adam Ickes.

Image (C) Adam Ickes

Image (C) Adam Ickes

Joanna’s story ~ These Boots Are Made For Walking

Joshua has no idea who owns these boots, but his are holed, and he’s alone on this trail. These boots should make his trek easier.

Why look a gift horse in the mouth?

He continues on his original heading, towards the ravine. A narrow, dangerous path winds upwards; he intends to avoid that, keep to the safer, lower trail.

His feet carry him onto the higher path, towards treacherous overhangs. Wind-hewn stone flaunts ancient paintings, intense colour bleeding through the rock. Ghostly arms pluck at him as he passes.

He dissolves into the rock, leaving the boots on the path.

[100 words]

Ron’s story ~ The Good Gardener?

And there I was, gone. One moment drinking a mug of strong, steaming tea, looking out over my morning’s work at the allotment, then …….

 I was pleased with the results: clean brown earth in neat rows with early potato shoots showing through, thinking ‘should be a good crop this year – if the weather holds.’

 ….now I am looking down with a view over everybody’s allotments; just my boots left sitting.  Good job my socks came with me, it’s a bit chilly here.

 It was sugar I put in my tea, not my other crop ….wasn’t it?

[100 words]

The tales written by other writers who’ve taken part this week can be found by clicking the blue frog below.

Our earlier stories can be found here and on our old blog.

Thanks for reading, and hope you all have ‘happy holidays’ and a wonderful New Year! We hope to return to Fictioneers in January. 🙂

28 responses to “Friday Fictioneers: “These Boots…” and “The Good Gardener?”

  1. Both are nicely done, but I prefer Ron’s 🙂

    Like

  2. This is where I finally walked away from my life as a “modern” individual. Those chuckas have been sitting there for three years, and nobody in my tribe has even given them a second glance. They know that this spot holds great “medicine” for me. I stepped out of them that day, and never looked back.
    What took me to the Oronoco Mountains of Venezuela was an opportunity to find and photograph the rare fork-tailed flycatcher. Sliding down a muddy slope while not paying attention to my footing one rainy day, I twisted my ankle and careened into a large puddle, camera equipment and all.
    Late that evening, as I struggled to erect my one-person tent to shield me from the numerous mosquitoes, a Piapoco tribesman appeared suddenly, and I tried to act as friendly as possible, though I was not, at that time, a happy camper. He dragged me by means of my tent, the 3-4 miles back to his village and I soon became a crowd favorite because of my pale skin and my seeming inability to understand anything regarding tribal life. The children laughed at me, but it was all in good fun.
    To make a long story short, I gradually blended in with the Piapocos, adopting and even embracing their natural ways. I had always wanted to live like them, but needed fate to intervene and force me into such a situation.
    I sometimes paint abstract paintings for them, and they seem as happy as ever when they see the finished product, but I’ll have to admit that I do not think they “get it”. In the photo, above, you can see one of the tribesmen walking right past one of my wonderful paintings, not even stopping to consider it.
    This man, incidentally, has accepted me as his “brother”, and really takes care of me. I am not sure it is voluntary, or whether he was “assigned” by a tribal elder”. It’s good to have him around, none-the-less. I have since stopped my abstract painting and spend most of my time collecting wild herbs in the jungle. My boots remain exactly where they should be.

    Like

    • Paul, I love that you were inspired to write and share your own story! I really liked it. If I’d known anything substantial about American history, I might have been brave enough to go with that theme. (But I don’t!)
      Thanks for sharing and hope you enjoyed writing in response to the prompt. 🙂

      Like

  3. Both stories were good, but I’m still chuckling at Ron’s. Good thing I don’t put anything in my tea!

    janet

    Like

    • Glad you enjoyed them, Janet! Good to see you here again. I’ll be visiting you tomorrow to read your story. 🙂

      Like

      • I’ll be on the road for a 12+ hour drive to Philadelphia to pick up our younger daughter for Christmas but I’ll check in later in the day (or at a rest stop with wi-fi.) That reminds me that I need to get a post done for tomorrow, too. I’ll be taking off from FF for the holidays because both girls, one s-i-l and a friend will be here, so we’ll be busy having fun. But I’ll still be blogging, just don’t have time to do all the FF reading.

        janet

        Like

        • That’s a looong drive. I hope you and your family have a terrific Christmas.

          Ron and I are taking a short break from blogging and the business-side of things. We love what we do, but we’ll both be glad of a bit of a break, and time with our families! 🙂

          Like

          • Enjoy that! I think often about the ease with which we get sucked into the virtual world and into technology. Bill and I just got our first smartphones and I’ve decided not to be one of those people constantly on their phones, something much too easy to do. I want to see what’s around me, talk with people and be in the real world. Enjoy your break and families!

            janet

            Like

  4. Thank you for being so exclusive, Janet.

    Like

  5. Two very different takes, both excellent in their own way. I liked the idea of dissolving into rocks marginally more than disappearing into thin air after ingesting … whatever. But it was close.

    Like

  6. Hi Joanna and Ron,
    I liked both your stories, and there’s common ground there, both of them having the protagonist disappearing from the scene. Joanna’s story has a magical quality and beautiful descriptive writing. Ron’s story is quirky and imaginative and I really liked the wry, comic twist at the end. The Other Ron

    Like

  7. Loved both the stories for different reasons-the first because of it’s eeriness and sense of mystery and the second,because it made me laugh:-)Well done Joanna:-)

    Like

  8. Dear Joanne (and Ron),

    I enjoyed both stories. They were truly two halves to the whole. Nicely doe on both sides.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  9. Oh this was two quite dark tales both of them… similar yet different.

    Like

  10. Two very different stories both entertaining but Ron made me laugh.

    Like

  11. I loved both stories, though it wasn’t easy to find where to comment! I’m new to FF this week and loving the varitey.

    Like

  12. Both stories are great! Both of them share the experience of being taken away from the boots. Maybe we should all avoid these boots! Bad luck!

    Like

Your comments are welcome ... please don't be shy!

