Forward Momentum: A Springboard

Image credit 'twobee' FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image credit ‘twobee’ FreeDigitalPhotos.net

The last time I (Joanna) put a good slice of time into writing Mosaic of Light, the next book in The Lazuli Portals series, was 10 February.

Shocking, isn’t it?

The thing is, Ron and I were channelling most of our energies into getting ready to launch The House of the Stormwind and other short stories. We had blog posts and Newsletters to write, edit and schedule for publication. We had a Facebook Event to create, tweets to write, extracts of the stories to choose. There was proofreading, cover designing, document uploading, blurb writing, checking everything. I had a video reading to do for YouTube – that took more takes than I care to remember! Then there were changes to the website (new webpage, revised homepage) to get ready. And, as we are a partnership, all this needed to be discussed and agreed!

We were ready several weeks before launch (12 March.) Hooray! 🙂

And then I got sick. ‘Just’ a cold virus. But I have a health condition called M.E., and it didn’t play nicely with the cold virus at all. I was in bed, feeling very poorly indeed, for over 2 weeks. And very tired after that, with a cough which would have made a video reading impossible! It’s a good job we were so well-prepared for the online book launch – which I carried out from my bed!

So that’s our explanation for the lack of progress on our work-in-progress. Of course, on top of writing the book, we maintain this blog, our Creations newsletters, and write short stories for our fortnightly(ish) Writers’ Circle. Some of our earlier stories made it into The House of the Stormwind. I’m currently adapting one recent 1000-word story into something longer; it is a magical Young Adult (YA) tale that was far too constrained by the 1000-word limit! Short stories give us variety in our writing life, and are often impatiently waiting to burst free onto the page (regardless of anything else I’m doing at the time lol).

But I can promise you – we can promise you – Mosaic of Light is not forgotten. Tomorrow is a bank holiday in the U.K. so I am taking a break from Twitter and Facebook and my other business as a Reiki Master/practitioner. I am “going undercover” to work on new scenes and/or old issues that need resolving (writing a story with parallel worlds and spiritual growth gives rise to complexities you’d never dream of!) And I’m hoping that time investment will act as a firm springboard (it is Spring, isn’t it?) so that I can regain some forward momentum – and dive back into the magic and the lovelight, and the lessons that Keira and Co. are learning.

I’ve written this piece because we’re often asked, “How’s the next book going? When will it be ready? Please make it soon!” and we want to be realistic about what we can do, and the progress we can make. Having M.E. means I really do have to go with the flow of the energy I have (or, more often, do not have), and live my life in balance.

That’s why, although The Lazuli Portals is a business, we do not put ourselves under pressure to ‘get it done’ or ‘work all hours’. We want to keep it fun, we want to remain passionate about writing and storytelling, and we want to be healthy, too. 🙂 This approach works for us, and will hopefully ensure that we can continue to write for many, many years to come. 🙂

Do you put yourself under pressure to achieve? To be ‘as good as everyone else’? Could you have more fun, more laughter, more light in your life by being kinder to yourself and releasing some of that? Leave us a comment if you’d like! 🙂

7 responses to “Forward Momentum: A Springboard

  1. Hi Joanna, interesting blog – glad you feeling better now and ready to get Mosaic of Light underway. Life very pressurised at moment with edits but I suppose, when you go with a publisher instead of self-publishing, you have to go with their deadlines too. Can’t complain though, loving the process even if it is exhausting. A holiday next week will help me return refreshed and raring to go, I’m sure. But you’re so right, a balance in life is essential – it’s just remembering to maintain one that’s sometimes hard. Have a productive day tomorrow on your next, eagerly awaited, work of art!!! xxxx

    Like

  2. Hi Shani! Yes, that’s one of the reasons we avoided (by choice) the trad. publishing route, as we don’t want the deadlines! Hooray for enjoying the editing process – your blog post on that was enlightening, with all the British-isms we tend to ‘not notice’!

    As we’re 86K words into Mosaic of Light, there’s plenty to review, check, consider and mooch on; hopefully I can put all those ‘analytical’ thoughts to one side, let it sort itself out in the writing, and get cracking on new scenes!

    Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. 🙂 Have a fab time down in Cornwall. 🙂 xx

    Like

  3. Progress report (!) Managed to write over 3333 words last Friday, which was a real boost, taking us past the 90,000 word mark! Hooray! 🙂

    Like

  4. Admin - Eleni

    I think it’s the nature of the beast to work under pressure as a writer. Even though I meditate, it still happens, but the difference is I’m able to let go and continue with the task at hand.

    Like

    • I think that can be true, Eleni, and meditation certainly helps!

      My difficulty is that I tend to forget my physical limits and keep pushing myself beyond them. I revert to following old patterns … which used to work fine (or so I believed!) Then I get ‘payback’ (and other issues) which affects my ability to do things for Lazuli Portals and for my other business, and even for myself. Still learning … *always* learning! 😉

      Like

  5. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. kudos

    Like

Your comments are welcome ... please don't be shy!

